Page updated 19/10/13

Back in 1975, a group of local equestrian enthusiasts got together to form a riding club aimed at getting local riders together to compete and gain experience in all forms of equestrian activities.

The founder members were Nina Matthews, John Bycroft, Harold Holmes, Eddie Woolnough, Pete Unwin, Harold Ingham, Bernard Hall, and secretary Pat Parker. The first President was Steve Cock who retired after 25 years as President. Nina Matthews then took over the reins and now after her recent retirement in 2013, Keith Lovell is the new president. The first shows were held on the Haley Stewart field with team jumping at the Castle Sports Centre. In 1977 club members rode in the flower parade and leading on from this were invited to Spalding's twin town Speyer in Germany, to stay with host families and ride their horses. For several years exchange visits followed.

As the club grew and needed more space, a new permanent show site was found at Irby Hall, Whaplode, the home of Mr & Mrs Holt Myers where our shows are still held today.

During the year, the club holds monthly shows which include Showjumping, Showing, Dressage and Gymkhana.

All the shows are open to members and non-members. Membership is £12 and allows a reduced entry fee for most classes. Members also compete for a points system over the season with trophies for the champions.

The shows have a friendly and relaxed atmosphere although there is always a good standard of competition and are an ideal starting place for horses and riders of all ages with classes to suit everyone.

The current committee is made up of local riding enthusiasts with our President, Mr Keith Lovell keeping the younger ones on the right tracks! We are always looking for committee member or helpers no matter how much time you can give, without these volunteers the shows would not go ahead so please help!

The current committee is as follows:

President: Keith Lovell
Chairperson: Andy Chamberlain
Vice Chairperson: John Neal
Treasurer: Richard Arnold
Secretary: Nicola Arnold
Committee: Paula Jackson
  Nicky Dobson
  Paula Leverton
  Helen Venters
  Yolande Portor
  Keith Lovell

Lisa Hedaux


Carl and Sherrie Wright

Membership forms are now on the Members page.

For further information, please contact:

Address: The Secretary, Mrs Nicola Arnold, New House, West End, Swaton, Sleaford NG34 0JL

Mobile No. 07806 254759

Email: nicolasdrc@ymail.com